A New Chapter

The past four months have been nothing short of a roller coaster ride. Being trapped in a small cart, that slowly elevates up and then comes crashing down in flash, with you almost loosing consciousness multiple times and before can even gather yourself, you can already foresee another big drop waiting for you. However, after the ride is over, you kind of enjoyed and want to do it all over again. Or you just sort of never want it to end. That’s college!

Over the past two years, I’ve basically kept this blog about my high school life, which to be honest has been glum and even pessimistic. While being a cynic remains a crucial part of my personality, the past four months have really changed the way I think.I left my home, my city, my life and ventured into a new world. When I walked into my dorm room for the first time, it was tiny, sad and miserable but it was it made me so happy. It was MY home. I was up to me to make it feel like it was somewhere where I belonged. I shared that space with another person whose despite all her flaws is basically my family. She adds her own touch into the space just like I do. Okay, to be honest distressing from the cheesy blurb, I am over nineteen and literally ANYTHING is better than living with my parents.

Unlike high school, when I step out of my college dorm, I meet new people everyday. Everyday, I strike a conversation without someone I don’t know and probably will never even meet again. I have learnt to take risks. I grown so much and so fast in the past four months than I probably would have in the past four years. And honestly, now that I am back for few days and I can’t wait to get back on the roller coaster that has literally made me a 2.0 version of me.

Sanna Kapoor

Leave a Reply

